About ICB & Qualifications

The Insti­tute of Cer­ti­fied Book­keep­ers has been around since 1931. Its role is to improve and main­tain the qual­ity, cred­i­bil­ity and rep­u­ta­tion of book­keep­ing, account­ing, office admin­is­tra­tion and finan­cial man­age­ment train­ing and qual­i­fi­ca­tions in South­ern Africa.

As a Qual­ity Assur­ance Part­ner (QAP) of the Sec­tor Edu­ca­tion and Train­ing Author­ity for Finance, Account­ing, Man­age­ment Con­sult­ing and other Finan­cial Ser­vices (FAS­SET), the ICB is an exter­nal assess­ment (exam­in­ing) body for many of the busi­ness qual­i­fi­ca­tions that FAS­SET awards.

ICB grad­u­ates are recog­nised world­wide by the Inter­na­tional Asso­ci­a­tion of Book­keep­ers, the South­ern African Insti­tute of Busi­ness Accoun­tants, the South African Insti­tute of Tax Prac­ti­tion­ers, the Asso­ci­a­tion of Char­tered Cer­ti­fied Accoun­tants (ACCA) and the Char­tered Insti­tute of Man­age­ment Accoun­tants (CIMA).

If you grad­u­ate through the ICB’s Account­ing Cer­ti­fi­ca­tion Pro­gramme (ACP) you can study fur­ther to become a char­tered cer­ti­fied accoun­tant, through the ACCA or become a man­age­ment accoun­tant through the CIMA.

The ICB qual­i­fi­ca­tions are offered through accred­ited train­ing providers which include:

i. National Cer­tifi­cate Book­keep­ing NQF 3
ii. Fur­ther Edu­ca­tion and Train­ing Cer­tifi­cate Book­keep­ing NQF 4
iii. National Diploma Tech­ni­cal Finan­cial Account­ing NQF 5
iv. National Diploma Finan­cial Account­ing NQF 6
v. National Cer­tifi­cate Small Busi­ness Finan­cial Man­age­ment NQF 4
vi. Cer­tifi­cate Office Admin­is­tra­tion NQF 5
vii. Higher Cer­tifi­cate Office Admin­is­tra­tion NQF 5
viii. Diploma Office Admin­is­tra­tion NQF 6

For more infor­ma­tion on the ICB and Qualifications listed above, please go to their web­site at www​.icb​.org​.za